Course reflections & major assignments!

Work flow

While working on the major assignments I decided to start with the lighting of the background. I made this decision as I figured that would be the assignment which would be the most time consuming of the two.
I started out with the horizon, light source and making the entire picture darker as a whole and proceeded to start darkening each individual surface. While working on the background I ended up re-lighting each building several times around, making it darker/lighter to make it look just the way I wanted. After that I finished off with some details and light shimmer on the light-exposed edges.
While working on the rough I hit several snags in the form of hands, boots and face. Eventually I managed to make the boots and hands look the way I wanted. Working on the face was the most difficult thing about the assignment and I ended up remaking the face several times around. Eventually I managed to make the face look pretty much like how I wanted it to, I wanted him to look somewhat tired and sad. In the end I would have wanted to make time for making the clothes look more alive, but the aforementioned issues I had ended up too time consuming for me.
In the end I am happy with what I managed to come up with, and feel proud with a lot of specific details in both of the assignments.

Major assignment city final Major Assignment rough final

Reflections and my development

All in all, this course has been a bit of a struggle uphill for me as I was very inexperienced and I’ve had some problems with specific parts of the course. However, I have tried really hard to work my way around these problems and I have seen large improvements in my own work weekly. I have been proud of the work I have done one week only to look back the next week and feel like I’m a different person from the one who drew it. It has been a good experience and the feeling of seeing my own improvements has been incredible! I know that I still have a lot of training left to do, but I can still say that I feel good about the way this course has improved me!

Lämna en kommentar